Ellerstina – 2019 Hurlingham Open Champions

Ellerstina Johor defeated La Dolfina Sancor Seguros on Saturday, Nov. 3, 12-11 and was awarded, for the third year in a row, the 125th RUS Hurlingham Open title.

Ellerstina - 2018 Hurlingham Open Champions
Ellerstina – 2018 Hurlingham Open Champions

It was a good polo match between the two best teams in the world. In the first half, La Dolfina managed the threads thanks to the Uruguayan David Stirling, very quick reflexes to originate faults from Ellerstina, who in this final committed a lot: 19. The Tortugas Open champions were winning 7-4 and it looked like they were taking the final but from the fifth chukker and after a blow that Stirling received to his face which produced a cut, Polito Pieres made 4 of 7 goals.

With 10-7 in their favor and with two chukkers remaining, Ellerstina had everything to define the match, since in addition to the three goals of advantage, La Dolfina suffered the exit by double yellow Adolfo Cambiaso. But the Zeta did not define it, La Dolfina discounted, and to top it off, Nicolás Pieres suffered the same fate as “Adolfito”, since he had to leave by a double yellow, for which there was almost a minute of net time in which both sets remained with three men on the field.

So things and only two goals underneath, La Dolfina was put to shot in the beginning of the eighth with a penalty of Pablo MacDonough. The match was back and forth, but Nico Pieres defined the final with a huge run to blow up Ellerstina’s palenque.

In this way, with a title for each one, the nickname of the best team of the season will be decided at the 125th Argentine Polo Open that is about to begin … Who will take advantage? Or will there be another formation that gets into the dispute? What a Palermo Open is coming!


First historic final of 80 goals that was played on court 1 of the Hurlingham Club (remember that in 2009 a perfect “semifinal” was played, in which Ellerstina beat La Dolfina 19-13.

It was the match No. 44 between these two huge organizations of the Argentine polo. La Dolfina won 28 matches, while Ellerstina won in the remaining 15. It was also the final No. 30 between both (19-11 for the Cañuelas), ninth of them in Hurlingham, with a minimum advantage for La Dolfina by 5-4.


After the words of the President of the Hurlingham Club, Mr. Fernando Kelly, the finalist La Dolfina Sancor Seguros received the Ravenscroft Cup and the replicas from the Mayor of Hurlingham, Juan Zabaleta; while The Ayrshire Cup was awarded to the champion team of Ellerstina Johor by the British Ambassador, Mark Kent, together with the holder of the Hurlingham Club.

The replicas for the champions were delivered by the owner of the AAP, Eduardo Novillo Astrada (h) and Julio Barbero, of RUS.

Then, the Polo Subcommittee of the organizing institution (Marcelo Smith, Santiago Trotz, Rafael Cuneo Libarona and Federico Fleitas) awarded the champions with the historic bags.

The Javier Novillo Astrada trophy for the best player of the match went to Nicolás Pieres, who received it from Eduardo Novillo Astrada (h).

The Fair Play Award for the Knight of the Pole went to Juan M. Nero – delivered Cuneo Libarona and Fleitas-; while there was unanimity in the awards to the riders: the Daniel Kearney Cup instituted by the club; and the AACCP and AAP awards were -for the second consecutive year- for Open Guillermina, played by Nicolás Pieres. “Nico” received the Cup and the blankets from José Santamarina (h) for the Hurlingham Club; Santiago Ballester, head of the AACCP; and Delfin Uranga, vice president of the AAP.

Finally, Rafael Cúneo Libarona and Marcos Aldao, Director of Operations of the AAP, gave him a reminder plaque to the third arbitration; and Lucas Adur, CEO of the AAP, together with Federico Suárez, of the aviation company, gave him the FlyBondi award to the player with the most flight during the final, Pablo Pieres.

The finalist teams:

Ellerstina Johor: Pablo Pieres 10 (5 goals, one penalty), Gonzalo Pieres (h) 10, Nicolás Pieres 10 (3, one penalty) (He received two yellow cards one in the fourth and another at 5m 34s. seventh) and Facundo Pieres 10 (4 penal). Total: 40

La Dolfina Sancor Insurance: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (5, three penalty) (He received two yellow cards in the seventh chukker, the second at 3m 46s.), David Stirling (h) 10 (1), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (5, four penalty) and Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 40.

Ellerstina Johor: 1-2, 1-4, 3-5, 4-7, 6-7, 10-7, 11-9 and 12-11.

Judges: Guillermo Villanueva (h) and Gastón Lucero. Referee: Martín Pascual.

The remaining teams that participated:

Las Monjitas: Facundo Sola 9, Hilario Ulloa 10, Guillermo Caset (h) 10 and Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 37.

La Aguada: Alejandro Novillo Astrada 8, Alfredo Bigatti 8, Miguel Novillo Astrada and Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9. Total: 33.

Alegría – La Irenita: Clemente Zavaleta (n) 7, Juan M. Zavaleta (h) 8, Frederick Mannix (h) 9 and Matías Mac Donough 8. Total: 32.

La Dolfina Polo Ranch: Diego Cavanagh 8, Guillermo Terrera (h) 8, Julián de Lusarreta 7 and Ignatius Du Plessis 8. Total: 31.

Breeding Yatay WeWork: Valerio Zubiaurre (h) 8, Tomás García del Río 7, Joaquín Pittaluga 8 and Ignacio Laprida 8. Total: 31.

The Albertina Abu Dhabi: Nicolás Roldán 7, Francisco Elizalde 8, Ignacio Toccalino 8 and Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 8. Total: 31.

La Ensenada: Juan Britos (h) 7, Juan M. Zubía 7, Facundo Fernández Llorente 7 and Jerónimo del Carril 7. Total: 28.

La Cañada Angiocor Daily Racing Form: Agustín Obregón 6, Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario 8, Sebastián Merlos 8 and Jared Zenni 6. Total: 28.

*This article was translated from Spanish. Please excuse any mistranslations or typos.*
Original article: https://www.aapolo.com/PerfilPublico/#/Noticia/2088

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed