La Dolfina Wins Sixth Consecutive Tortugas Open

On Sunday October 7, 2018, a handicap of 80 handicap goals was played for the first time in the tournament, which defined the 78th Tortugas Country Club Open, the Macro Grand Prix presented by Ford, in which the traditional Emilio de Anchorena Cup.

On field 7 of the organizing club a very tough game was played between the two best teams in the world, La Dolfina Sancor Seguros and Ellerstina Johor, who defined for the eighth consecutive time the event, first link of the Triple Crown 2018 organized by the Argentine Association of Polo, which will continue with the 125th Open of Hurlingham and Palermo.

The title corresponded for the sixth consecutive season for the Cañuelas team, in which the Uruguayan “Pelón” Stirling, scorer of five goals, stood out. La Dolfina put a partial 3-0 in the first chukker, so the men in black ran from behind throughout the game. To make matters worse, after reaching a draw of five at the start of the fifth chukker, La Dolfina played its best period of the game, achieved four goals and returned to take an advantage that was finally unbeatable for Ellerstina.

In this way, La Dolfina again won the title, doubled Ellerstina’s record in matches (28-14) and took away the chance to achieve their 11th Tortugas title.

Individually, Pablo Mac Donough won his eleventh trophy in the tournament while Adolfo Cambiaso got it for 9th time.


The Intendente de Pilar, Nicolás Ducoté, participated in the award ceremony; Deputy Marcela Campagnoli; the holder of the AAP, Eduardo Novillo Astrada (h); the president of Tortugas CC, Francisco Dorignac; and the president of the AACCP, Santiago Ballester, among other personalities.

MVP of the final: David Stirling (h).

Top scorer: David Stirling (h).

AAP Award for the Best Horse Player: Bárbara, played by Adolfo Cambiaso (h), of Valiente Polo.

AACCP Award for Best Player Product Enrolled: Open Léxica, played by Gonzalo Pieres (h), owned by Ellerstina SA

The teams and the progression:

La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (4 goals, two penalties), David Stirling (h) 10 (5), Pablo Mac Donough 10 and Juan Martín Nero 10 (2, one penalty and one corner). Total: 40

Ellerstina: Pablo Pieres 10 (2), Gonzalo Pieres (h) 10 (4, one penalty), Nicolás Pieres 10 (1) and Facundo Pieres 10 (2, one penalty). Total: 40

La Dolfina Sancor Insurance: 3-0, 3-1, 5-2, 5-4, 9-6, 9-7 and 11-9.

Judges: Guillermo Villanueva (h) and José I. Araya. Referee: Gastón Lucero.

*This article was translated from Spanish. Please excuse any mistranslations or typos.*
Original article:


No Comments Yet

Comments are closed